Level of analysis question

Research topics can be discussed in this area.
dvorad
PLS Junior User
Real name and title:

Level of analysis question

Post by dvorad »

I am relatively new to SmartPLS and am trying to test a mediated model with a number of independent and dependent variables. Most variables are at the individual level, but some independent variables I would like to include are at the company or country level. Reviewers have raised concerns about doing this. Would it be appropriate to include higher-levels-of-analysis variables with those at the individual level, or do all variables need to be at the same level? Any advice and references regarding this would be greatly appreciated.
cringle
SmartPLS Developer
Real name and title: Prof. Dr. Christian M. Ringle

Re: Level of analysis question

Post by cringle »

Multi-level PLS analyses are still under development. You may use the latent variable scores and, then, run multilevel analyses for the partial regression models using Stata, SPSS, Statistica, R etc.

Alternatively, you could use these variables and run a multigroup analysis. The advanced PLS-SEM book has a chapter on this topic:
https://www.smartpls.com/documentation/ ... sem-issues

Best
Christian
dvorad
PLS Junior User
Real name and title:

Post by dvorad »

Dear Christian,

Many thanks for your prompt response! I'll consider these options and look at the chapter! I look forward to multi-level analysis becoming available.
dvorad
PLS Junior User
Real name and title:

Post by dvorad »