Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Frequently asked questions about PLS path modeling.
Post Reply
bnaghshineh
PLS Junior User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:18 am
Real name and title: Bardia Naghshineh Manager

Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by bnaghshineh » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:42 am

I am trying to do a "consistent PLS Algorithm" and the result is erroneous with N/A present in my model and matrix. Please take a look at the attached pictures and advise.
Attachments
error11.JPG
error11.JPG (161.67 KiB) Viewed 3064 times
erroe1.JPG
erroe1.JPG (130.43 KiB) Viewed 3064 times

User avatar
cringle
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 810
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:13 am
Real name and title: Prof. Dr. Christian M. Ringle
Location: Hamburg (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by cringle » Wed Jul 12, 2017 9:29 pm

This kind of outcome occurs when the PLSc manipulation of PLS results entails extreme values. The reason are bad data and/or poor model fit.

Best
Christian

jmbecker
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:09 am
Real name and title: Dr. Jan-Michael Becker

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by jmbecker » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:52 am

Dr. Jan-Michael Becker, University of Cologne, SmartPLS Developer
Researchgate: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Jan_Michael_Becker
GoogleScholar: http://scholar.google.de/citations?user ... AAAJ&hl=de

dlaude
PLS Junior User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:20 am
Real name and title: Daniel Laude

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by dlaude » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:36 am

In this thread and the one that jmbecker has referenced (viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3531), this problem is attributed to the consistent PLS algorithm in reflective measurement.

I encounter this problem also with a formative construct and the standard PLS algorithm. Are the underlying reasons the same?

Thank you.

INFO.PNG
INFO.PNG (8.92 KiB) Viewed 1038 times

jmbecker
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:09 am
Real name and title: Dr. Jan-Michael Becker

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by jmbecker » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:14 am

In such a model it is more likely the case that you have a severe multicollinearity problem or some other data issues that cause the problem.
Dr. Jan-Michael Becker, University of Cologne, SmartPLS Developer
Researchgate: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Jan_Michael_Becker
GoogleScholar: http://scholar.google.de/citations?user ... AAAJ&hl=de

dlaude
PLS Junior User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:20 am
Real name and title: Daniel Laude

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by dlaude » Tue Jun 11, 2019 6:59 am

Thank you, jmbecker. I don't think that it's a (multi)collinearity problem since all VIFs are between 1.19 and 1.70.

If I include the same construct (INFO with INFO1-8) in a larger model with other constructs, this problem doesn't occur.

admin
PLS Senior User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:09 pm
Real name and title:

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by admin » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:38 am

You may send your project (including model and datafile) to our support and they can have a look at the issue.
Administration Team

admin
PLS Senior User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:09 pm
Real name and title:

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by admin » Sun Jun 16, 2019 12:30 pm

Thank you for sending us your request.
The problem is that you only have one construct in your model. Such a model is not estimable with PLS. The normal PLS algorithm needs at least two connected constructs for identification of the model.
It seems to be a small bug in the latest release that the path model does not invalidate. The specific validator seems to be inactive. Previous releases would not have allowed such a model to turn valid and thus would prevent users from estimating algorithms on such an invalid model. We will fix that in the next release.
Administration Team

dlaude
PLS Junior User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:20 am
Real name and title: Daniel Laude

Re: Getting N/A error while doing a consistent PLS Algorithm

Post by dlaude » Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:00 am

Thank you very much for looking at the issue and explaining the problem - much appreciated!

Post Reply