Moderator and Mediated Variable.

Research topics can be discussed in this area.
iputu.ariyasa
PLS Senior User
Real name and title: I Putu Ariyasa, ST.

Moderator and Mediated Variable.

Post by iputu.ariyasa »

I am new to PLS modeling and i'am in the middle of trying to analyze a model based on that proposed by Kibler (2013). in Kibler's model, one variable (regional environment) acts as a moderator variable and also as an exogenous mediated variable. Now suppose that the model will be analyzed by SmartPLS and the regional environment variable is a formative variable, thus two stage approach on testing the moderator effect is needed, should we create two separated PLS Path Model, i.e. one testing for mediated effect, and one testing for moderating effect, or not? Thank you.

Kibler, E. (2013). Formation of entrepreneurial intentions in a regional context. Entrepreneurship & Regional Development, 25(3-4), 293-323. doi:10.1080/08985626.2012.721008

-Best Regard

I Putu Ariyasa
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.43.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.43.24 PM.png (108.89 KiB) Viewed 84026 times
cringle
SmartPLS Developer
Real name and title: Prof. Dr. Christian M. Ringle

Re: Moderator and Mediated Variable.

Post by cringle »

You may test the model without the moderator first. In a second analysis step, you may analyze the results of the model including the moderator variable.

Kind regards
CR
iputu.ariyasa
PLS Senior User

Post by iputu.ariyasa »

I see,

Thank you very much Sir

Best regards,

I Putu Ariyasa
iputu.ariyasa
PLS Senior User

Post by iputu.ariyasa »

cringle wrote:You may test the model without the moderator first. In a second analysis step, you may analyze the results of the model including the moderator variable.

Kind regards
CR