Activation key not working?

Frequently Asked Questions about the SmartPLS software. Please refer to this section first, if you have problems with the software.
qraza
PLS Junior User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:56 am
Real name and title:

Activation key not working?

Post by qraza » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:01 pm

My activation key is not working. It used to work before. Also each time it ask me to enyer an activation key when I download it. Do I have to be online to work with PLS?
Razaurrehman Qazi

User avatar
cringle
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:13 am
Real name and title: Prof. Dr. Christian M. Ringle
Location: Hamburg (Germany)
Contact:

Post by cringle » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:50 pm

Hi,

you have to be online to activate SmartPLS but not to work with it later on.

The activation key is principally good for only one installation on a certain system. If you install SmartPLS on another system, your key does not function. Please read the SmartPLS-Beta-Agreement for details on our activation key policy (downloads/smartpls/license.pdf).

However, please send a personal message to Sven - he will send you an alternative key.

Best
Christian

qraza
PLS Junior User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:56 am
Real name and title:

Activation Key

Post by qraza » Mon Nov 21, 2005 5:59 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your quick response. I have another question regarding the Key. Why my key is blocked? May be because I have used it several times. I download the software each time I used it because I was using the computer in computer labs on campus where I have to download it each time I work.

Also I have an urgent need to use PLS. Is there any alternate way to do it? Because I cant wait for 10 days. What if I cancel this key and get a new one? Let me know please ASAP because I really need it now.

Qazi
Razaurrehman Qazi

User avatar
cringle
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:13 am
Real name and title: Prof. Dr. Christian M. Ringle
Location: Hamburg (Germany)
Contact:

Post by cringle » Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:16 pm

Hi,

your key is only good for a single installation. With the release of SmartPLS 2.0 M2, we made a second installation posssible (e.g. for your laptop computer)

qraza
PLS Junior User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:56 am
Real name and title:

Waiting for Key

Post by qraza » Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:18 pm

Hi Ringle,

I still haven't got the key that you sent. How do I check my private message? I would appreciate if you could send me another key for my laptop.

Qazi
Razaurrehman Qazi

admin
PLS User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:09 pm
Real name and title:

Re: Activation Key

Post by admin » Wed Dec 07, 2005 11:30 pm

Hi,

i just sent you another key by email.
qraza wrote: Why my key is blocked? May be because I have used it several times. I download the software each time I used it because I was using the computer in computer labs on campus where I have to download it each time I work.
The activation process of SmartPLS assumes installations on your personal computer systems. The original key, you received in your welcome email allows you to install and activate SmartPLS on up to 3 different machines (maybe your private system at home, a laptop and a computer at your company).

If you must use SmartPLS on many different computer systems in computer labs on the campus, that is a "special" situation. It now depends on the configuration of the computer labs, if you really need a new key on every machine. After successful activation, SmartPLS stores some information in your home directory. As I know from computer labs on our university, my personal desktop as well as my home directory can be accessed from every machine, I log on. This doesn´t seem to be the case in your labs - so you are asked for a new key, every time you install SmartPLS on a new system.
Administration Team

lanem
PLS Junior User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:20 am
Real name and title:

Activation Key is not working

Post by lanem » Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:23 am

Hi,
I have downloaded and installed SmartPLS however when I enter the activiation key

I get an error message saying an error occured during the acitivation process and at the moment I cannot use Smart PLS

Do you have any advice on how to get the activitation process working

Thanks Michael
Kind regards Dr Michael Lane
Lecturer Information Systems Department
Faculty of Business, University of Southern Queensland, Qld, Australia, 4350
 
Email: lanem@usq.edu.au
 
Phone: 617 46311 268
Fax:     617 46315 594

User avatar
awill
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:20 pm
Real name and title:

Post by awill » Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:55 am

Hi!

First of all please make sure that, if your internet connection is managed by a proxy server, the proxy server settings are made properly within the activation wizard. If this isn't the source of your error, please send the SmartPLS log file to Sven and me (see "Contact"). This file is located:

[your SmartPLS2 folder]\workspace\.metadata\.log

Best,

Alex

aldas

activation key not working

Post by aldas » Thu Jul 27, 2006 11:02 am

Dear all,

I have changed the computer at my office in the university. It has the same ip address than the previous one, but when I have tried to reinstall smartpls I receive the message "The key wasn't accepted by the server".

I have also the program installed at my laptop and at anoother office in a university research institute, but that makes 3 installations that I thought it is the maximum. If the computer is different even having the same ip address it doesn't work? What should I do?

Thanking in advance your attention

tem3
PLS Junior User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 7:41 pm
Real name and title:

License Key Expired

Post by tem3 » Wed Nov 01, 2006 2:08 pm

Help!

I attempted to open SmartPLS today and received a message that my license key has expired, and I must enter another license key to reactivate. Where can I get this number? I initially loaded SmartPLS onto my computer in August, and downloaded the new version about 2 weeks ago.

Thank you,
Teresa McCarthy
Teresa M. McCarthy, PhD
College of Business and Economics
Lehigh University
621 Taylor Street
Bethlehem, PA 18049

User avatar
Diogenes
PLS Super-Expert
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 5:13 pm
Real name and title:
Location: São Paulo - BRAZIL
Contact:

Post by Diogenes » Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:46 pm

Just click on "My key" in the corner of this page.

Best regards

Bido

maraujo
PLS Junior User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:25 pm
Real name and title:

activation key not working

Post by maraujo » Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:33 pm

Hi All.

I am trying to install the software, but the following message appears:

"An error occurred during the activation procedure".

How can I solve this problem?

Thank you forward!!

NomanMahmood
PLS Junior User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:52 am
Real name and title: Noman Mahmood

Re: Activation key not working?

Post by NomanMahmood » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:05 am

Hello everyone.

I am a user of SmartPLS 3.
I recently purchased the license and used it for few days.
I have recently reinstalled my windows and SmartPLS on the same Laptop machine, I used the software before.
Now when I try to activate, it says, the license is already activated on another computer. Even though I am using same machine.
I also tried to manual procedure, but it did not work.

Please suggest

admin
PLS User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:09 pm
Real name and title:

Re: Activation key not working?

Post by admin » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:32 am

Please contact our support team. They need to reset your key after reinstalling windows.
Administration Team

waqas
PLS Junior User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 7:49 am
Real name and title: waqas ahmed khan afridi

Re: Activation key not working?

Post by waqas » Thu Jul 04, 2019 11:44 am

Help!
I have SmartPLS2 in my system, since my teacher recommended me to use smartPLS3 full version for a 30 days trial, so i downloaded it but after installation when i put the provided license key it doesnt get activated. it says "License has expired. Please purchase a licecnse key to continue".
i tried the same process with my other ID but got same error.
what is the issue. please help!

Post Reply