Can I use PLS SEM to validate my instrument which i developed from grounded theory

Questions about the implementation and application of the PLS-SEM method, that are not related to the usage of the SmartPLS software.
micpatlem
PLS Junior User
Real name and title: drg. Michael Andreas Leman, MMedEd

Can I use PLS SEM to validate my instrument which i developed from grounded theory

Post by micpatlem »

My name is Michael, I am studying about the characteristics of healthy role model in medical institutions. From Grounded theory, I developed new instrument that I used for survey in the next phase of my study. I have some questions according to my study, especially when I got data from survey that I intended to use for validating my instrument:

- Could I use PLS SEM to validate my new developed instrument?" The sample size is 79 sample which I consider meet the minimum sample size to use PLS SEM and my research aims was exploratory.
- Is my path model right? It has 7 construct (PH, SH, MH, SpH, WTP, LLL, IHB) which I categorized as 7 exogenous variables and the endogenous variable is the characteristics of healthy role model (HRM). For better understanding to my model, please look the path model I attached here.
- I couldn't continue to report R2, f2 since the indicator of 7 exogenous variable (PH, SH, MH, SpH, WTP, LLL, HB) is equivalent with endogenous variable (HRM)

Please help me to answer this questions.

Sincerely,
Michael
Attachments
path model paling awal.png
path model paling awal.png (106.58 KiB) Viewed 18205 times
jmbecker
SmartPLS Developer
Real name and title: Dr. Jan-Michael Becker

Re: Can I use PLS SEM to validate my instrument which i developed from grounded theory

Post by jmbecker »

You describe a reflective-formative higher-order construct. And it seems you model it by using the repeated indicator approach. Such a model is generally valid, but comes with some problems.