Saturated Model

Questions about the implementation and application of the PLS-SEM method, that are not related to the usage of the SmartPLS software.
DUYAN
PLS Junior User
Real name and title: DUY

Saturated Model

Post by DUYAN »

Dear all;
I would be very grateful if you can explain me why the results obtained from saturated model are different from estimation model?
for example, in the saturated model, i have a link which is significant at 5% (path coefficient=1,77) while in the estimation model the same link is significant at 10% (path coefficient = 0,098).
I have 194 observations
I followed tow steps approach for analysis ( in the second step i used the latent variable scores).
Thanks in advance
plshelpme
PLS Junior User
Real name and title: Sam Penny

Re: Saturated Model

Post by plshelpme »

Hi Duyan,

I am new to this, so if I am wrong somebody please correct me.

If I remember correctly, from Hair's book 'A primer on PLS...' the saturated model is a version of the structural model where all relationships are allowed to connect freely. It is used to obtain an estimation of the model fit – as you compare the saturated model with your estimated model. That key difference is probably why you have different values.

Have you assessed your model fit?
DUYAN
PLS Junior User
Real name and title: DUY

Post by DUYAN »

plshelpme wrote:Hi Duyan,

I am new to this, so if I am wrong somebody please correct me.

If I remember correctly, from Hair's book 'A primer on PLS...' the saturated model is a version of the structural model where all relationships are allowed to connect freely. It is used to obtain an estimation of the model fit – as you compare the saturated model with your estimated model. That key difference is probably why you have different values.

Have you assessed your model fit?
thank you for your response
I have a SRMR value of 0,064 and GoF of 0,541