SmartPLS 2.0 isn't running on MBP OSX10.8.5

Report and discuss bugs of SmartPLS 2. To report bugs of the new SmartPLS 3 software, create a ticket in our helpdesk.
Post Reply
timothyslau
PLS Junior User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:21 pm
Real name and title:

SmartPLS 2.0 isn't running on MBP OSX10.8.5

Post by timothyslau » Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:23 pm

I downloaded the mac zip file and unzipped it. I saw that there was an "smartpls.app" file and when I click on it nothing happens.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

huracan
PLS User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 1:13 pm
Real name and title:

Post by huracan » Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:27 am

Hi.

You have to use bootcamp or parallels desktop to use smartpls app in Macbook pro. Smartpls does not support mac os.

Kopernikus
PLS Junior User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:51 am
Real name and title:

?

Post by Kopernikus » Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:40 am

Not supporting OS X? Why can I download a Mac version if it does not support? I do have the same problem, SmartPLS not starting on my MacBook Air.

-Nick

huracan
PLS User
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 1:13 pm
Real name and title:

Post by huracan » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:32 am

Hello.

Actually, Smartpls does not yet support for mac osx because smartpls for window have exe. file requirement to install, but mac osx needs dmg file to install, that is, there is no dmg file yet to install in mac operating system.

Alternative way to use smartpls in mac osx is first to install parallels(virtual windows os) in mac or install bootcamp in mac separately and you can use it independently, but you have to take care of short of space since you have macbook air user that have not much storage space.

I just hope to launch mac version for the next new version.

User avatar
swende
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:34 am
Real name and title: Dipl. Wi-Inf. Sven Wende
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

Re: SmartPLS 2.0 isn't running on MBP OSX10.8.5

Post by swende » Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:23 am

The new SmartPLS 3 does now work on Mac OSX out of the box. Just download and install the DMG file from http://www.smartpls.com !
Sven Wende, SmartPLS Developer

chiying1980
PLS Junior User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:25 pm
Real name and title: About SmartPLS

Re: SmartPLS 2.0 isn't running on MBP OSX10.8.5

Post by chiying1980 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:57 pm

Can the free download version work for Data sample size over 100?
My friend told me the free trial for SmartPLS 3 can only allow 100 data entrance.
Is it true?
Thanks!

User avatar
swende
SmartPLS Developer
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:34 am
Real name and title: Dipl. Wi-Inf. Sven Wende
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

Re: SmartPLS 2.0 isn't running on MBP OSX10.8.5

Post by swende » Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Yes - this is true for the student version. Please see http://www.smartpls.com/pricing for details!
Sven Wende, SmartPLS Developer

Post Reply