The new JRE 7 does not run with SmartPLS

Report and discuss bugs of SmartPLS 2. To report bugs of the new SmartPLS 3 software, create a ticket in our helpdesk.

Postby TAILAB2014 » Fri May 23, 2014 3:09 am

Hi everyone,
I wanted to follow either solution 1, 2, or even 3, but actually, I could not find the JRE 6 (update 29) .
could you please help me step by step where I can find it and how.

Thanks
MohamedTailab
TAILAB2014
PLS Junior User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 10:27 pm
Real name and title:

Re: Startup fails Win 7 with Solution 2 (JRE in SmartPLS fol

Postby lorikendall999 » Fri May 23, 2014 5:01 pm

lorikendall999 wrote:After I unzip the latest version of SmartPLS 2.0 into program files (name of directory is smartpls 2.0) and check to verify that JRE that was included with install is in same directory (JRE and contents), I try to start Smart PLS and get this error message: "An error has occurred. Please see log file \\vmare-host\Shared Folders\eclipse\de.smartpls.main.SmartPLS_2.0.3\configuration\1395511775739.log"

There is no such thing as a directory path called "eclipse\de.smartpls.main...." There is also no such file called "1395511775739.log" anywhere on my computer (I searched all paths). I am using VMWare Fusion. I have SPSS version 21 and Amos installed along with other "PC only" apps that run in this environment. Please explain this obscure message that doesn't describe either a path or an actual file in my environment.

Thank you.


Fixed -- required three changes for my Maverick's / VM Fusion 6.0 environment:

After installing and downgrading JRE to 6, build 29, I did the following:

1. Created an .INI file that calls JRE 6 explicitly and put in the home folder for SmartPLS 2.0 in Windows.
2. Turned off shared folders in VMWARE (A real pain to have to do this but oh well).
3. Inspected folder permissions on unzipped folders and made them less secure (R/W/M/D) for all users. That's because individual users on Windows might not have administrator rights. SmartPLS seems to want admin authority for execution.

Now everything works.
Lori Kendall
Doctoral Candidate, DM 2015
Case Western Reserve University
lori.kendall@case.edu
lorikendall999
PLS Junior User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 6:47 pm
Real name and title:

Re: Smart PLS works on Mac

Postby swende » Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:25 am

kamira wrote:Another alternative to run Smart PLS on your Mac without using bootcamp is to download the version for Windows and run it with a special software to run windows applications in other operative systems (Wine, Crossovers, etc.


The new SmartPLS 3 does now work on Mac OSX out of the box. Just download and install the DMG file from http://www.smartpls.com !
Sven Wende, SmartPLS Developer
User avatar
swende
SmartPLS Developer
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:34 am
Location: Hamburg (Germany)
Real name and title: Dipl. Wi-Inf. Sven Wende

Re: The new JRE 7 does not run with SmartPLS

Postby carole » Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:05 pm

Hi
a solution for mac users as with the OSX siera update, java7 is automatically installed and impossible to install java6. I have tried and the soft requires to delete java7 that I can't find on the hard disk...
thanks
carole
PLS Junior User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:37 am
Real name and title: carole fantini, researcher

Re: The new JRE 7 does not run with SmartPLS

Postby cringle » Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:12 pm

Apple stopped supporting SmartPLS 2, which runs fine on Windows systems. However, SmartPLS 3 is "back to Mac". Just try it out and download, install, and run SmartPLS 3: https://www.smartpls.com/downloads
User avatar
cringle
SmartPLS Developer
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:13 am
Location: Hamburg (Germany)
Real name and title: Prof. Dr. Christian M. Ringle

Previous

Return to Bugs